EVENTS    |    ABOUT US    |    CONTACT    |    LIBRARY      Find Us On Facebook social twitter Instagram icon youtube Kawartha Conservation On LinkedIn 

Wednesday, 25 January 2017 15:30

Ted Smith elected Chair of Kawartha Conservation

JANUARY 25, 2017 – Brock Township Regional Councillor Ted Smith was elected Chair of the Kawartha Conservation Board of Directors during the first meeting of 2017 on Wednesday. Coun. Smith served as vice-chair of the Board previously.

“I have been a member of the Kawartha Conservation Board of Directors for six years and have always admired and appreciated the good work that is done throughout our watershed,” said Coun. Smith. “There are a lot of challenges ahead of us and a lot of important work that will be happening, which I look forward to championing as we move forward.”

Municipality of Trent Lakes’ Peter Raymond was nominated and subsequently acclaimed as vice-chair of the Kawartha Conservation Board of Directors.

Returning to the Board for 2017 is Ron Hooper (Municipality of Clarington), Don Kett (Township of Scugog), Pat Dunn (City of Kawartha Lakes, Gord Miller (City of Kawartha Lakes), Peter Raymond (Municipality of Trent Lakes), Tom Rowett (Township of Scugog) and Jordan Landry (Township of Cavan Monaghan). Newly appointed member Isaac Breadner replaces outgoing member, and past-chair Heather Stauble, as the City of Kawartha Lakes third representative on the Board of Directors.

Kawartha Conservation’s mission is to be leaders in integrated watershed management and conservation with a focus on outstanding water quality and quantity management, supported by healthy landscapes through planning, stewardship, science and education.